Tuesday, 15 April 2008


When the four original members of rock supergroup Asia (Geoff Downes, Steve Howe, Carl Palmer and John Wetton) reunited in 2006 (23 years after all four had last played together) the much publicised reunion resulted in two highly successful world tours in 2006 and 2007, an acclaimed double live LP and DVD, and an overwhelming response from fans. ‘Phoenix’, their eagerly anticipated first studio album since 1983 contains an eclectic selection of songs bound by the unique ‘original’ Asia trademark sound. Influenced by the same fusion of talent which so excited the world in 1982 the new record includes retro rockers such as ‘Never Again’ and ‘Nothing’s Forever’, poetic power ballads ‘Heroine’ and ‘I Will Remember You’ and the Wetton ‘inspired’ ‘An Extraordinary Life’. This is Asia.. reborn again from the ashes!

Mark Crampton

No comments:

Post a Comment